I love magazines. Glossy ones especially, occasionally I do enjoy a quick peek at a celebrity trash mag but generally the glossier the better.

I stumbled across Hi-Fructose Magazine this week, it’s a contemporary art magazine much in the same vein as Juxtapoz, although it is a quarterly – so possibly more glossy. They have an evolution of James Jean special which looks fantastic (and also completely sold out). The inside of the magazine is beautifully designed too. Again an American magazine, it used to be sold in Borders. If anyone can suggest where I might find one in Bristol I’d be very grateful as it features a lot of my favourite artists and many who were at the ‘Art from the New World’ exhibition.

Candy Magazine is a free online magazine by an independent collective. It has a wide variety of styles which is really nice and all the back copies are also available on their website, also for free.

For glossy fashion mags, POP and iD reign supreme in my opinion, although LOVE is also, erm, lovely (aside from an irritating website). The perfection of airbrushed photoshoots and bright colours win me over every time, the content is lower down on the priority list.

Now if only someone could combine these styles of flawless beautiful colour, brand new artists with inspiring editorial we would have a magazine to rule them all!

